(Updated as of Aug 29, 2018)

Icon wifi

Wifi / Internet

Icon computer laboratory

Computer Laboratory

Icon chemistry laboratory

Chemistry Laboratory

Icon biology laboratory

Biology Laboratory

Icon canteen


Icon audio visual rooms

Audio-Visual Rooms

Icon library


What does Laguna State Polytechnic University stand for?

The Laguna State Polytechnic University (LSPU) started as a provincial high school then named as Baybay Provincial High School. It was the first public secondary school established along the shoreline of the Laguna de Bay, and the second in the whole province. It was then converted in 1957 into the Baybay National Agricultural and Vocational School (BNAVS), which was the main center for American Peace Corps Volunteer in rice production at the time.

In 1969, the school also became the pilot center for the two-year Agricultural Technician Curriculum with an Associate degree in Agriculture. It gained College status through Republic Act no. 6321 in 1971 and was renamed to the Baybay National College of Agriculture and Technology (BNCAT), and again later renamed into Laguna State Polytechnic College in 1986.  It received full university status in 1999 through accreditation by the Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) and integration of several other state colleges in the area.

Laguna State Polytechnic University is one of the largest state universities in the region. It has extensive research and academic partnerships with other learning and private institution in South East Asia. Its main campus is in Sta. Cruz and has other campuses in Siniloan, San Pablo City. and Los Baños.

LSPU specializes in Agriculture and Agro-Fishery studies as the main development center in the Laguna de Bay Area. All campuses in the university system offer courses in Arts and Sciences, Information technology and Computer Science, Food Nutrition and Dietetics, Teacher Education, Criminal Justice Education, Business Management and Accountancy, Engineering, and Hospitality Management and Tourism. However, only the main campus in Santa Cruz, Laguna offers Law and Nursing. The university also enrolls students in graduate and postgraduate degrees in Education. A laboratory school for elementary and  senior high school is also built within the campus.

Laguna State Polytechnic University Facts:

  • The main campus is located in the Provincial capital of Santa Cruz, Laguna and is the largest of all the campuses with over 10,000 students, but the Siniloan campus is much larger in size with 133 hectares of land area.
  • The university offers 89 accredited courses.


What programs & courses does Laguna State Polytechnic University offer?

Choosing the right program can help you set your future goals and visualize where you want to be. Whether you want to be an engineer, a teacher, an accountant, or you want to level up in your profession, making yourself informed with the right choices will surely back you up in the future. Are you ready to map your career with Laguna State Polytechnic University? Make the best decision in choosing the right path for you, click through the list of programs offered by Laguna State Polytechnic University below:

Centers of Excellence & Development

COD Centers of Development

Teacher Education

Where is Laguna State Polytechnic University located?

(Updated as of Apr 23, 2019)

Sta Cruz, Laguna
Contact Number
(049) 304 - 7000 to 7009
Mobile Number
(Not stated)

Join thousands of students who trust us

Over 350 schools waiting for you. Apply now — it's free